Gary Moore still got the blues

I’ve just gotten home from a concert with Gary Moore. To tell you the truth, I’ve never been the greatest fan of his. To me, he was just one of the unavoidable guitar legends that you have to know. Up there in the rock’n’roll hall of fame together with Eddie-boy Van Halen and Stevie Ray Vaughan (only overtaken on the inside by, of course, Hendrix with his version of All Along The Watchtower). But while a lot can be said about Gary, there is one thing which is incontrovertibly true. That man plays the most insane guitar solos you will come across in a long time. And no I’m not talking about the “Still Got The Blues” lick. I’m talking about the down-and-dirty, mind-blowingly shrieking frenzy of tones that he wrenches out of that Gold-top Les Paul through a couple of high-powered Marshall stacks. Leaves you breathless. That man is the king of guitar solos. And to hear and see that was worth it all.
So does Gary still got it? Damn right.

NanoNews:
Okay – so now it’s time for the breaking headlines of NanoNews. I hit 9.000 words today (9.302 to be exact) which means that I’m 19% done. So far so good.

Another thing: If you tried out the link to my author’s profile (it’s right over there in the sidebar) you may have noticed insaneously long loading times or even time-outs for the Nanowrimo.org site. It’s not because the link is broken, but because there is an excessive rush on their servers these days. Yesterday (I think it was), they reported that they had had more than 130.000 visits in one day, which is an all time high.
And I (together with the 90.000 other participants) got a mail from the founder of Nanowrimo, Chris Baty, where he apologized for the lousy functionality.

 

“[…] For the first week of the event, the site will be on fire. This year we moved to a completely new back-end system, and it has made me beat my head against the wall almost every single day. Pages disappear. Parts fall off. Error screens everywhere. It handles high traffic the way a country lane would handle a freeway. We have so many plans on rebuilding the site it for next year it’s not even funny. But for now, we have to work with what we’ve got. Russ is making all the improvements he can to make it suck less. […]”

That’s about all for now, I think. And, as always, happy blogging!

~ by Biyang Hansen on November 4, 2007.

7 Responses to “Gary Moore still got the blues”

  1. funny,
    i never liked gary TOO much! i found him a little too cold and i thought it was MY fault! i like still got the blues though. but of course!

    and i think you are having a good start at nano.
    kudos! 😀

  2. “fan of his” if you allow me…

  3. @ NettyGritty: cold? that was not the first phrase that would pop up in my head. But whatever 🙂 Of course “Still got the blues” is a good song, but tbh, I like some of his other stuff better. Especially his older records. But, try listening to “Parisienne Walkways” if you like “Still got the blues” 😉

    @ Alaleh: That’s British, ain’t it? 🙂

  4. no it’s grammar you are somebody’s fan, possessive.

  5. True 😀 I stand corrected, then. Thanks for letting me know (will change it in a second).

  6. i like precision, hope you forgive the intrusion…

  7. Sure, no problem, thanks for pointing my attention to it 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
