50 Days of Love Noir

– and an announcement…

So it’s been about fifty days since LoveNoir was launched. Not bad. Truth is, I didn’t even know it had been that long already. I accidentally discovered when I checked my blog stats at Technorati.
But I’d just like to use the occasion to thank all of you who have visited my blog. You’re making it a pleasure to post new stuff. Thanks!

And the announcement… I’m going to write my first novel! After a little while of consideration (and hesitation), I’ve signed up for the 2007 National Novel Writing Month competition – also known as nanowrimo. The idea is to write 50,000 words in one month – November. This is going to be quite a task since I’ve never written anything that long before. So everybody, wish me tons of luck! I sure am gonna need it.
And, as you may have noticed, I’ve placed a little banner in my sidebar named “NaNoWriMo”. If you click on it you’ll be taken to my “author’s profile” on the nanowrimo web site. Starting from November 1st, you’ll be able to check up on my current word count, excerpts of what I’ve written so far, and what-have-you.

Meanwhile, I’ll try to post here on Love Noir as regularly as possible. Probably won’t be any epic 1,000-page comics during the next month though πŸ™‚ , but I think you can expect some more black and white illustrations and some updates on the writing process.

– Biyang

~ by Biyang Hansen on October 24, 2007.

17 Responses to “50 Days of Love Noir”

  1. You’re a gifted writer and artist. All the best to you in nanowrimo.

  2. Thank you very much, Timethief.

  3. Congrats Biyang! Though 50 days is not a great achievement, you will make it better. πŸ™‚
    Will be looking forward to you at nanowrimo

  4. i have been visiting your blog almost since its inception. i’m happy to see that you have addicted readers and also some bloggers have blogrolled you! so that’s quite an achievement and congrats!

    all the best at nanowrimo! um, do they allow graphic novels too? the question sounds silly, i know! :mrgrren:

  5. i misspelled the smiley. so here goes again, cos i want it bad! :mrgreen:

  6. Hehe very true “Life’s Elsewhere”, 50 days is not that long – a month and a half – but still, it’s been some very good 50 days so that’s worth celebrating IMO πŸ˜‰ You’ll be doing Nano too?

    Thanks Sanjida! Yes, I’m very grateful for the kind reception I’ve had here.

    I don’t know about graphic novels at nano… They say “as long as you think it’s a novel, we think so too” – but since they’re only counting words it would be quite a challenge to do a 50,000 word comic book πŸ˜€ So I’m going for a regular novel for now – that’ll be enough of a challenge for me πŸ™‚

  7. Congrats and good luck! Nanowrimo is a great event, and I feel sure you’ll meet the goal. Post chapters here as you update, or make a new book blog (there are instructions for that in the forum).

  8. Good luck. I’ve tried it in the past. Not easy at all.

  9. Biyang, I would have loved to do a Nano, but I would rather watch first. Are you planning to post your drafts here too?
    And a request (IMPORTANT πŸ™‚ ) if you find the instructions to design a Book Blog in the forums as raincoaster advised will you please provide a link here? This is something I badly need…
    The forum doesn’t provide a search field, so didn’t manage to fish it out.
    It can be easily done via wordpress.org. I have simulated a ‘web-atmosphere’ within my PC and experimenting. But the limitations of wordpress.com doesn’t allow much.
    These days praying they provide more varied templates to us

  10. biyang,
    if you decide to do it the way raincoaster suggests, or ahem, i also said some time back, then here’s the link from faq.

    How to write a book

  11. Thanks everybody! Sure, during November I’ll post some excerpts of what I’m writing.

    @ Life’s Elsewhere: Seems Sanjida beat me with the link to “how to write a book” πŸ™‚
    And there is a search field, in both the faq and the forum – it’s pretty big and conspicuous so I don’t know how you could have missed it πŸ™‚

  12. God! Either me or my browser has gone blind! I am talking about Nanowrimo’s forum Biyang, see this

  13. Okay – it looked like you were talking about the wordpress forums. And as Sanjida linked, that’s probably the best place to look for that kind of info πŸ™‚

  14. Mark has provided instructions in the FAQs for transforming a blog format into a book format. This is what raincoaster referred to and here’s the link http://faq.wordpress.com/2006/11/04/how-to-write-a-book/
    Best regards, TT

  15. oops! will you please delete my comment above. My vision is not good today and I just realized that netty gritty already provided the link above. Sorry 😦

  16. No problem TT – I’ll just let it stay since there’s no harm in saying it twice πŸ™‚

  17. Hey Biyang, I would love to hear more about the LoveNoir. Check out my site at http://www.noircon.info. There are a lot of Noir fans out there that would be interested in this. Yours, Lou

Leave a Reply

 
