I’ll Stop Crying When You Come Home – Seventh Letter

Johnny, I don’t know how much longer I can take it. Please come home, my love, please come home. I can’t stand thinking that I will give birth to our child without you being here. The doctor says it’s gonna be soon now. I’m afraid, afraid that I will never see you again, afraid that our child will never see his father. Please, Johnny, let me hear from you, tell me that you’re okay and that you are coming home to me soon.
I’ve been crying so much these days. Sometimes, even if I don’t know why, I just start to cry. I miss you so much. And I haven’t heard from you, not even once, in all this time. If I just knew that you are okay, and that you will come home to me again some time.
I know you never liked when I cried. I remember how you said “Don’t cry, my love. You make me all sad too.” And I don’t want to make you sad.
But I promise you, I’ll stop crying when you come home.

______
“I’LL STOP CRYING WHEN YOU COME HOME”
A short story consisting of seven letters from newly-wed Lisa to her husband Johnny, who has been sent to the war.
Copyright © 2007 by Biyang Hansen. All rights reserved.

~ by Biyang Hansen on October 12, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
