I’ll Stop Crying When You Come Home – Sixth Letter

Forgive me for asking, but when are you coming home? I know I asked you in the last letter, and now I’m asking again. You probably don’t even know, but it’s so hard to be back here, waiting for you, and not knowing when I’ll see you again.
I haven’t heard from you once since you went away. I try to be strong, but all the waiting is killing me.

Yours forever,
Lisa.

______
“I’LL STOP CRYING WHEN YOU COME HOME”
A short story consisting of seven letters from newly-wed Lisa to her husband Johnny, who has been sent to the war.
Copyright © 2007 by Biyang Hansen. All rights reserved.

~ by Biyang Hansen on October 9, 2007.

12 Responses to “I’ll Stop Crying When You Come Home – Sixth Letter”

  1. I hate to hear the pain in your post. Every day I pray for our men and women over there, and I pray for their families here, waiting for them to come home. Stay strong.

  2. Thank you for your comment. Yes, it is a tough world a lot of people are living in. A war is never good for those who fight in it.

  3. I get chills when I read what you have crafted. You are a fine storyteller Biyang. Moreover, you are writing on a very difficult subject. Well done.

  4. Thanks for the kind words, timethief. I’m glad you stopped by, and that you like what I’m doing.

  5. Biyang,
    If you don’t mind me saying so and I hope you don’t, I’m a visually challenged person, as well as being an artist, and this theme is the worst one of all for me to read. The font on the posts is so small that I change it with my browser. In addition there is a lack of contrast between the black background and the gray font that makes it really challenging hard for me to focus and read. 😦

  6. I don’t mind at all – and I completely agree with you. The design/colors are not at all suited for long texts. The reason for choosing it was that a dark background is usually best for showing graphics (and initially I didn’t plan on having much text here). It took a lot of testing (almost all of the themes available here at wordpress.com) before settling on this particular one, but even now I’m not sure I made the right choice. And your comment makes it pretty clear that something has to be changed 🙂 Thanks for pointing it out.

    I’ll go through the themes again now on a test blog and see if I can find a better solution.
    If you have any suggestion for a theme that you think might suit this blog, I’d appreciate to hear it.

  7. I was so frustrated when it came to finding a suitable theme that I hired a web developer. It was the best thing I’ve ever done. I had him help me find suitable hosting, and develop a unique custom theme for me on my own hosted wordpress install.

    P.S. I have linked to your blog from that one.

  8. Yes it is hard work – been on it for hours now and still haven’t found a solution. I am slowly beginning to consider buying the CSS upgrade.

    And thanks for linking! If you give me the link, I’d be happy to have a look at it.

  9. so, i’m not the only one reading text here! you know what i do? i select the text with my mouse first. that increases the contrast! 😀

    by all means, if you have the dough, get css! but um, you know css too? gosh, i’m green with envy! i feel proud of myself that i managed to learn html! i thought i’d never learn that!

    but i dunno, i wanna fool around in Blogger just to get the hang of css. i want it so bad sometimes!

  10. Funny, I do the same thing on a lot of blogs when reading – that also gives you a nice way of knowing right where you are if the lines are long.
    Yeah, I’ve been doing CSS for some time now. It really isn’t that hard if you know html. And W3C has a great reference if something is buggy. But usually you can get away with just modifying some freeware code you find.

    Good luck with it!

  11. oh god! so sorry 😦

    i didn’t mean that. damn i hate typing so much! i didn’t mean to say i am not the only one reading text here. i meant to say i am not the only one HAVING PROBLEM reading text here!

    oh god, i feel so embarraeesd! please excuse me!

  12. Hehe no worries, the meaning was perfectly clear in the context. And I’m working on it – but haven’t decided on a new theme yet, or if I should buy the upgrade :-S

Leave a Reply

 
