I’ll Stop Crying When You Come Home – Fifth Letter

I saw a group of men yesterday, who’d just gotten back from the war. They were still wearing their uniforms. They were all drunk and insulted everyone they passed on the street. I don’t like to think that those are the kind of people that you are with now. I know you’re brothers in arms and all, but it just scares me to think that people get like this from being over there. They were like they had just gotten out from prison.
Things are going pretty good here, but I still get these moment where I get all scared that I will never see you again, that something terrible has happened to you, and that I just haven’t heard yet. But I hope, and I have faith in, that everything will be all right, and that you’ll be home with me before soon, if I just stay brave and take care of the house and everything. You know, I felt the baby kick yesterday, it was so wonderful! It’s really alive inside me! Hope you will get home soon so we can experience this together. I know you will love it too.
Oh, Johnny, I have to tell you this. I know I shouldn’t but it keeps getting into my mind, and I’ve even dreamt about it these last nights.
It’s like I see all these fields of destruction, the fire in the woods, and I think about you. It’s like the sun has gone away from us, and won’t be back before we find something that we’ve lost. I don’t know what it is, and I don’t know if it even makes any sense at all. But it keeps me awake most of the night, and when I finally fall asleep it’s even in my dreams. I don’t think it’s too good for the child neither. And I’m afraid that it will grow up, only to be sent into a war, like you are now. I don’t understand it. I’ve tried, but it just doesn’t make sense to me.
Please, let me know that you’re okay, Johnny. That’s all I’ll ever ask.

Lisa.

______
“I’LL STOP CRYING WHEN YOU COME HOME”
A short story consisting of seven letters from newly-wed Lisa to her husband Johnny, who has been sent to the war.
Copyright © 2007 by Biyang Hansen. All rights reserved.

~ by Biyang Hansen on October 7, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
