I’ll Stop Crying When You Come Home – Fourth Letter

 

The summer is here now, no more snow and no more cold. I’d wish you were here to see it with me. Of course it can’t really be summer here, not like last summer when we moved in here, when you’re not here.
I went to the doctor last week. I had been feeling strange, and not really well for a while, and I went and talked to him. And here’s a big surprise for you! For us both actually.
I’m pregnant!
The doctor told me. He said, “Ma’am, you’re going to have a baby.” And actually, I was so much in doubt if I should tell you yet or not. Don’t be angry. I just didn’t want you to be worried for me and the baby while you are over there, and have a lot of other things to think about. But I think I had to tell you, and I hope I’ve done the right thing. You know the thing we talked about, about always going to tell each other the truth and all? And I can’t keep anything hidden from you. It wouldn’t be right if I did. I’m so excited about it! Aren’t you? We’re going to have a little baby!
What should we name him? Or her? Of course, we can talk about that when you get back home. The doctor says, there’s still a long time before our child is going to be born. But it’s just so exciting to think that we’re going to have our own little baby in the house.
I love you so much.

Lisa.

 

______
“I’LL STOP CRYING WHEN YOU COME HOME”
A short story consisting of seven letters from newly-wed Lisa to her husband Johnny, who has been sent to the war.
Copyright © 2007 by Biyang Hansen. All rights reserved.

~ by Biyang Hansen on October 3, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
