I’ll Stop Crying When You Come Home – Second Letter

My love,

It’s only a day since I wrote you the last letter. I know it’s stupid, but you know, I miss you so much, and I think I have to tell you about what happens back home. That way, maybe you won’t feel so far away, where you are now.
It stopped snowing here. Must have stopped this night or this morning. But it’s still freezing outside and there’s still snow in our garden and on the trees out at the street. I hung up small pellets of food for the birds and they’re already eating from them. Poor little creatures, outside in the cold. Maybe we can build a little nesting box for them when you get home. That way they won’t have to be so cold next winter.
And you know, Mrs. McGrath down at the shop said she had heard in the radio that the war was gonna end soon, and that some of the troops could be expected home pretty soon. I hope you’re one of them, my love. I didn’t watch TV today, because when I hear of the war it makes me miss you so much. So maybe it’s better not to watch it.
I often think of how far away you are now. Isn’t it strange that some people get to spend their whole life together and never have to leave each other’s side, and other people, like us, are taken away from each other right after we got married, and don’t know when we will see each other again? All because of that stupid war, that no one understands anyway. Sorry, my love, I know I shouldn’t speak like this when you’re over there. You’re of course doing the right thing, and I’m glad you’re doing it. Even though I miss you so much, and I think it’s unfair that I can’t have you here with me, I’m proud of you. And Mrs. McGrath is proud of you too. She said, “You found yourself a good man, He’s doing a good job for our country right now.” She really said that. I almost blushed. And then she said, “You should be proud of him,” and I said, “I am. I sure am.” And that’s true, so forgive me if I seem a bit selfish every now and then, by wanting you to come home. I just hope that it won’t be too long before we can see each other again, and that you’re thinking of me where you are now.

Kiss you,
Lisa.

______
“I’LL STOP CRYING WHEN YOU COME HOME”
A short story consisting of seven letters from newly-wed Lisa to her husband Johnny, who has been sent to the war.
Copyright © 2007 by Biyang Hansen. All rights reserved.

~ by Biyang Hansen on September 29, 2007.

One Response to “I’ll Stop Crying When You Come Home – Second Letter”

  1. […] You can read the rest of this blog post by going to the original source, here […]

Leave a Reply

 
