I’ll Stop Crying When You Come Home – First Letter

Beloved Johnny,

I know only two days have passed since you left. But I already miss you so much that I almost can’t stand it. I know we talked it through before you went, but I still can’t understand why you had to leave. Couldn’t they just get somebody else? Did it have to be you?
I know I shouldn’t write like this, and I won’t. I just think this place, our home, seems so empty without you around. When I woke up this morning, I didn’t open my eyes for a long time. I was just lying in our bed, imagining that you were lying next to me and would take me in your arms any moment. But of course, that’s just me being silly.
Have you even gotten there yet? I saw on TV yesterday about the new troops being sent in and all.
It has started to snow here. Yesterday afternoon the first snowflakes began to fall, as I was on my way home with the groceries. And now the small garden in front of the house is all white, and the sidewalk too. The street has been cleared, but since it is still snowing everything gets covered again very fast. Of course they have to clear the street, but actually I like it better when it’s all covered with snow. It’s so beautiful when everything is white and soft. I would love for you to see it. Maybe it will still be there when you get home. Or else, we can see it together next year. We can sit in the kitchen and look out of the window with the new curtains, and watch the snow fall on the trees and in the street. You probably won’t get to see any snow where you are now. I don’t think it ever snows over there. At least, I’ve never heard of it. But that’s maybe better too. All warm and that.
I better end this letter now. You’re probably busy down there, getting yourself settled and packed out, so you won’t have time to read a long letter any time soon. Maybe you won’t even get this letter anytime soon.
But I hope you will, and if you get a free moment, please write me a line or two. About how you feel and that you miss me as much as I miss you.

Kisses and love,
Your Lisa.

 

______
“I’LL STOP CRYING WHEN YOU COME HOME”
A short story consisting of seven letters from newly-wed Lisa to her husband Johnny, who has been sent to the war.
Copyright © 2007 by Biyang Hansen. All rights reserved.

~ by Biyang Hansen on September 27, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
