Goodbye On A Street Corner

Saying goodbye on a silent street corner in the middle of the night. Said, “See you soon.” But who knows? Anyway, none of us looked back.
I remember you told me how sick you were of this place. Being trapped here. Feeling how life just… runs away from us.
And I remember that one time, I asked you to come with me. Go down to the station, get on the next train, and just move on.
You said you were afraid you were not strong enough. That we wouldn’t make it at the time. “Let’s wait ’till spring,” you said.
And we never left. No one does.
But ain’t it what we’re all trying to do? Get away from this small town.

And tonight, here at the junction, we said goodbye. And we both knew, we were never gonna make it. None of us said it. None of us knew how much time we had left together. Could be a day, could be years. Maybe we’d never see each other again after tonight. But we were sure that there was no grand plans in wait for us. No freedom in the horizon. No road we would drive down, and never come back. Dreams are dreams, and just that. Nothing more.

And as I turned away, I didn’t hear her steps as she too was walking away. I headed back to my place where the bottle of gin was faithfully waiting for me. A friend that will comfort you in your loneliness but never give you company.
And I heard Rick Blaine’s voice inside my head, “Here’s looking at you, kid. We’ll always have Paris.”
Guess we will. But did it ever make any difference? We’ll never have the future.

~ by Biyang Hansen on September 7, 2007.

5 Responses to “Goodbye On A Street Corner”

  1. hi biyang!

    i like the way you are doing your graphic stories! the um, he he, the stories are a little hard for me to read. my eye irritates if i read text against a dark bg for long..but maybe that’s just me due to my tired eyes caused by internet mania ๐Ÿ˜€

    i had my eye on this theme for a long time now for my future art blog. i was indecisive because of the text issue! but i am a sucker for showing images against a dark bg…gosh, don’t they just come alive that way? hmmm, since one can’t have it all, i guess i will save my needed text in a dark bg and upload as an image! ๐Ÿ˜€

    you know you might like to go to http://www.copyscape.com and get a copyright banner on your blog. it’s very helpful.

    another thing, i read somewhere in lorelle’s blog that the extra snapshot feature that we have in our free blogs should be turned off for readers’ convenience. i will definitely turn it off in my future art blog, cos i wouldn’t want my readers to see snapshots, when they should be seeing what I MYSELF got to show!

  2. I’m glad you like my stories – a lot more is coming ๐Ÿ™‚
    It’s true that the white text on the dark background can be a bit tiring to the eyes, but as you point out too – graphics work best on a darker background. I spend quite some time testing the different themes before settling on this one, and it didn’t seem like there was any better option.

    I look forward to see your art blog when you get it online – be sure to let me know then!

    As for the copyscape banner – I checked on it and decided that I didn’t really like their banners – for two reasons: one is completely aesthetic, second is that it may be a bit overkill – I already have the “copyright notice” and disclaimer in the sidebar, and these are of legal validity, so for now, that should be enough. Thanks for the suggestion, though!

    I will look further into the snapshot feature – it puzzles me sometimes – and I still haven’t made up my mind if I like it or if I don’t.

    Thanks again for commenting ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. please do me a favour…

    when you visit my blog or even in your blog, is my avatar changing like, almost always? i have this avatar issue and i don’t know if it is only on my end!

    so right about copyscape aesthetics! but i have no other option, so………i was wondering if it wouldn’t work if i use an image i create and link it?

    snapshots are ok to be infatuated with in the beginning…. i know i was! but it’s a distraction now!

  4. Your avatar is just a white square on my screen, it’s been that all the time. You changed the avatar picture recently? Sometimes it takes a while for it to update. (You can test it at http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic.php?id=8515 – that’s a thread for avatar testing )

    As for the copyscape banner – yeah I imagine you can make the graphic yourself – as long as you don’t tamper in the actual text on it. If the information stays the same I can’t see any reason why you shouldn’t.

    I see your point on the snapshot issue. I think it would be nice if one could have it only on external links and not when you link to something on your own blog… But I think you’re right – as it is it’s only a nuisance so I’ll probably get rid of it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope you get your avatar problem fixed asap!

  5. i have been having this avatar issue for weeks now. but i see now that it is not as big as i thought. if i am the only one who can see this costume change, then who cares ๐Ÿ˜€

    and thanks sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much for the blinklist email me thing! i have been on the lookout for soooooooooooooo long! i guess i am not a very good treasure hunter ๐Ÿ™‚

    btw, do you have any tips regarding how to write artist statements? i’s really appeciate it if you dropped in your viewpoint here:
    http://shogoto.wordpress.com/2007/09/15/questions-about-ethics-and-sociology-hmmmm/

    see ya!

Leave a Reply

 
